The wild blue yonder looms

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Hello there.

Finally in Swansea after 24 hours of travel consisting of two long-haul flights, multiple train & bus rides, an airport layover & a very expensive taxi ride. Why I am here is a story for another day but for now, know that it is the right place to be in & that I am happy to call Wales my temporary home for the next three weeks.

“If you want to come down
down with your bones so white
& watch the freight trains pound
into the wild, wild night”

(Swansea – Joanna Newsom)

I arrived last night – grubby & grumpy – & after being shown my room at the Bible College of Wales, I took a long, hot shower & promptly fell asleep for a good twelve hours. It was easily the best that I had slept in the past year & when I awoke to the muted, blue-grey sunrise & the bucolic view from my bedroom window, I was filled with nostalgia & a strange peace of simply being. Alive & present.

It is a lovely feeling, the quietening down of one’s soul.

Leave a Reply

